An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : News : News
NEWS | March 27, 2014

Local public affairs professionals win at Air Force level

502nd Air Base Wing Public Affairs

Airmen here were recently honored in the results from the 2013 Air Force Media Contest in the areas of print, photography, broadcasting and music.

The winners were announced March 13 and winning products may be viewed on the Air Force Public Affairs Agency website at First place winners in select categories will advance to the Department of Defense level to be considered for the Thomas Jefferson Award.

Congratulations to this year's winners! In the "Category 4: Feature Article" category, Tech. Sgt. Beth Anschutz from Headquarters Air Education and Training Command Public Affairs, JBSA-Randolph took first place.

In the "Category 8: Photojournalism" category, Staff Sgt. Jerilyn Quintanilla from the 59th Medical Wing Public Affairs office at the Wilford Hall Ambulatory Surgical Center, JBSA-Lackland, was a first-place winner.

For the "Category 13: Civilian Print Journalist of the Year," Susan Romano from the Air Force Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance Agency Public Affairs at JBSA-Lackland took third place.

In photography, Staff Sgt. Jonathan Snyder from the 3rd Combat Camera Squadron at JBSA-Lackland tookfirst place in "Category 22: Portrait/Personality."

In the area of broadcasting, "Category 35: TV Spot Production," Tech. Sgt. Harry Kibbe from Air Force Recruiting Service Public Affairs, JBSA-Randolph, took third place.

3rd Place - For Air Force music, Airman 1st Class Jennifer Daffinee from the U.S. Air Force Band of the West, JBSA-Lackland, was the first-place winner in "Category 53: Outstanding New Public Affairs Musician."

Also in music, Tech. Sgt. Jeremy Martin from AFPAA took first place in "Category 50: Outstanding Large Instrumental Composition/Arrangement."

For social media, the AFPAA social media division took first place in "Category 10: Outstanding Blog." The team is made up of Tayna Schusler, 1st Lt. Victoria Hight, Tech. Sgt. Steve Grever, Staff Sgt. Jarrod Chavana, and  Senior Airman Antonio Gonzalez.

(Source: Air Force Public Affairs)