An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : News : News
NEWS | Dec. 18, 2007

4 MDG Airmen named tops in AETC

By Airman 1st Class Katie Hickerson Wingspread staff writer

Four 12th Medical Group employees were recently selected for individual Air Education and Training Command-level medical service corps awards. 

Majs. Joyce Warrington and Thomas Massa, Master Sgt. Yolanda Batchelor and Tech. Sgt. Daniel Johnson were all selected as outstanding performers in their respective fields of specialty. 

"Majors Massa and Warrington, Sergeant Batchelor and Sergeant Johnson are truly servant leaders," Col. Paul Bennett, 12th MDG commander said. "They each set the standard high and epitomize our Air Force core values." 

Major Warrington was selected to receive the Health Care Integrator of the Year Award.
As an integrator, Major Warrington is responsible for streamlining the Randolph Clinic with other healthcare facilities within the San Antonio Area. 

As a crucial player in the Access-to-Care working group, her team's efforts vaulted the 2007 business plan by 33 percent while creating a comprehensive provider handout outlining procedural codes, increasing accuracy from 77 to 96 percent. 

Major Massa was selected as the Aerospace Physiologist of the Year. 

Aerospace physiologists are responsible for briefing and instructing trainees in such subjects as the physics of atmosphere, physiology of respiration, acceleration, temperature, night vision and various survival techniques.
Major Massa, a flight commander, led the busiest Aerospace Physiology Training Flight of 29 instructors and 5,000 students and was ranked number one of 18 in the Air Force. He's touted as AETC's top night-vision goggle expert and spearheaded the acquisition of $300,000 in training devices creating the 'NiteLab' for Navigation students and saving the Air Force more than $150,000. He also directs the Air Force's only Latin American Aerospace Physiology aircrew training program. 

Sergeant Yolanda Batchelor, Public Health Flight non-commissioned officer in charge, was selected to receive the Colonel Cleveland L. Parker Award. 

"It is truly an honor and milestone in my career to be recognized as an AETC-level award winner," Sergeant Batchelor said. "However, I couldn't have done it without the support of my leadership and my coworkers." 

She was selected in 2006 as the 12th Aeromedical Dental Squadron's NCO of the year and was also the 12th Flying Training Wing outstanding performer in NCO leadership for the fourth quarter. 

Sergeant Batchelor was handpicked to be the NCOIC of her peers, and led the Public Health Flight to an overall "Excellent" rating during an Air Force inspector general's visit. She also resurrected the base mosquito surveillance program, saving the 12th FTW $12,000 yearly. 

As the NCOIC, Sergeant Batchelor monitored the 12th MDG Employee Health Program, identifying discrepancies leading the group to a 99-percent compliance rate.
Sergeant Johnson was selected to receive the Outstanding Health Plan Management Award. 

As a health services manager, Sergeant Johnson is responsible for providing administrative support for the entire medical group staff. 

He developed a quality control process, which included 15 checkpoints and validated more than 100 medical records each day, assuring maximum accuracy. 

Sergeant Johnson screened 200 records for deployment and aided in identifying 15 disqualified members who were less than 100 percent ready to deploy. 

He worked 75 off-duty hours copying records, eliminated a large backlog and reduced turnaround time by 65 percent. 

"Each of these award winners is unique in that they bring an enthusiasm and joy to their work places," Colonel Bennett said. 

All of the winners are scheduled to be recognized by Col. Richard Clark, 12th FTW commander, Monday at 1 p.m. at the Randolph clinic.