An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : News : News
NEWS | July 15, 2022

Air Force announces 12 Outstanding Airmen for 2022

By Staff Sgt. Kiana Pearson Air Force's Personnel Center Public Affairs

Air Force officials have selected the service’s top enlisted members, naming the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2022. Tech. Sgt. Alexander W. Messinger from the 802nd Security Forces Squadron at Joint Base San Antonio-Randolph is among the selectees.
An Air Force selection board at the Air Force’s Personnel Center considered 36 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies and Headquarters Air Force. The board selected the 12 Airmen based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.
The 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year (alphabetically, by command of assignment when selected) are:
Tech. Sgt. Brandon S. Blake, Air Force Special Operations Command
Senior Airman Demarion N. Davis, United States Air Forces in Europe - Air Forces Africa
Senior Airman Monica A. Figueroa Santos, Air Force Global Strike Command
Senior Master Sgt. Kade N. Forrester, Air Force District of Washington
Senior Master Sgt. Megan A. Harper, Air Combat Command
Tech. Sgt. Brianne E. Kelleher, Air Force Reserve Command
Tech. Sgt. Alexander W. Messinger,  Air Education and Training Command
Senior Airman Steven C. Peters, Air Mobility Command
Senior Airman Kristina L. Schneider, Air National Guard
Airman 1st Class Caden A. Soper, Pacific Air Forces
Senior Airman Christopher T. Thao,  Air Force Materiel Command - Airman supporting Space Force
Tech. Sgt. Jennifer G. Thomas,  Air Force Materiel Command - Air Force

The winners are authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year Ribbon with the bronze service star device on the ribbon. They are also authorized to wear the OAY badge for one year from the date of formal presentation.
The MAJCOM nominee list is available on myPers > Recognition >Special Trophies and Awards or select the active-duty enlisted category from the dropdown menu and search “12 OAY.”