An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : News : News
NEWS | April 3, 2014

AETC officials announce 2014 Outstanding Airmen of the Year

Air Education and Training Command Public Affairs

Air Education and Training Command officials announced nine Airmen selected as the command's 2014 AETC Outstanding Airmen of the Year.

The award distinguishes AETC's enlisted Airmen for their leadership, job performance, community involvement and personal achievements.

"We congratulate these fantastic Airmen - great men and women who deserve the heartiest congratulations for their contributions and achievements as leaders in our Air Force," said Gen. Robin Rand, AETC commander. "Their influence shapes our Air Force and our nation. We wish them all the luck at the top."

AETC Command Chief Master Sgt. Gerardo Tapia praised the winners for their outstanding efforts.

"I'm so proud of the accomplishments these Airmen have shown, setting the example through their diligence and hard work," he said. "They truly represent the best of the United States Air Force."

The 2014 AETC Outstanding Airmen of the Year are:

Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Jessica A. Paulson, 97 CES, Altus AFB, Okla.

Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Latoria R. Ellis, 502 CONS, JBSA-Lackland, Texas

Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Jason K. Trickey, 71 OSS, Vance AFB, Okla.

First Sergeant of the Year: Master Sgt. Phillip J. Brandley, 71 MSG, Vance AFB, Okla.

Honor Guard Member of the Year: Airman 1st Class James M. Gianotti, 690 NSS, JBSA-Lackland, Texas

Honor Guard Program Manager of the Year: Master Sgt. David M. Teets, Jr., 502 FSG, JBSA-Randolph, Texas

Military Training Leader of the Year: Master Sgt. Malcom O. Summers II, 37 TRSS, JBSA-Lackland, Texas

Military Training Instructor of the Year: Staff Sgt. Eddie T. Glover, 322 TRS, JBSA-Lackland, Texas

Recruiter of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Jeffrey A. Trueman, 319 RCS, Bridgeport, Conn.

The Airman, NCO, Senior NCO and first sergeant winners will compete next against other major command nominees at the Air Force-level.